JPL bar
Solid Eearth Science Working Group HomeAbout UsSolid Eearth Science Working Group ReportSummaryIntegrated ProgramEducationLinks


To the Reader,

The surface of the Earth is where we live. Yet our planet is a restless home, subject to earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, destructive floods, landslides, and other natural hazards. The Earth's surface is always changing, in response to processes deep in the planet's interior as well as to a complex suite of interactions among the solid Earth, atmosphere, oceans, hydrosphere, and biosphere. Understanding these changes poses a deep scientific challenge, but meeting that challenge can reap enormous practical benefit.

NASA has an opportunity to make key observations that can revolutionize our ability to characterize, monitor, and forecast changes in our planet's surface. In recognition of that opportunity, Dr. Ghassem Asrar, the NASA Associate Administrator for the Office of Earth Science, appointed a Solid Earth Science Working Group (SESWG) in the summer of 2000. The SESWG was charged “to guide the science community in the development of a recommended long-term vision and strategy for solid-Earth science at NASA.”
In the course of our deliberations, the working group sought the advice of experts both within NASA and from other organizations. We briefed our scientific colleagues at two national scientific meetings, and we maintained reports of our progress on an open Web site to invite comments and suggestions from the
broad scientific community.

This report is the working group's response to our charge. We hope you agree
that this “long-term vision and strategy for solid-Earth science at NASA” not
only is scientifically compelling but offers the potential to improve humankind's
ability to thrive on our restless planet.


Sean C. Solomon


Solid Earth Science Working Group (SESWG)

Sean C. Solomon (Chair)
Carnegie Institution of Washington

Victor R. Baker
University of Arizona

Jeremy Bloxham
Harvard University

Douglas Burbank
University of California, Santa Barbara

Benjamin F. Chao
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Alan Chave
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Andrea Donnellan
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology

Alan Gillespie
University of Washington

Thomas Herring
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Raymond Jeanloz
University of California, Berkeley

Bernard Minster
University of California, San Diego

Walter C. Pitman, III
Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University

Eric Rignot
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology

Mark Simons
California Institute of Technology

Donald L. Turcotte
Cornell University

Mary Lou C. Zoback
U.S. Geological Survey

John LaBrecque (ex-officio)

Charles Elachi (ex-officio)
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology

Diane Evans (ex-officio)
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology



Diane Evans
Director 4, Earth Science & Technology Directorate

Jeff Booth
Program Architecture

Elizabeth Amini
Website Creative Direction

Back to Solid Earth Science Home Site credits

Webpage last updated: